POLKA DOTS

Polka dots are everywhere! Have you noticed?

I personally have a soft spot in my heart for those fun little circles symmetrically scattered on anything from clothing to toys to furniture to accessories to small household items.  They are big in the decorating world today.

When I was fourteen, you remember that tender age where your self esteem was in jeopardy and challenged on a daily basis, I owned a white pique dress with black polka dots .  It had a dropped waist and capped sleeves. I felt very chic and cosmopolitan when I wore that dress.  I think I might have worn it to church every Sunday or at least, every other Sunday.  Even though it was a hand-me-down from my sister, Sheila, I embraced that dress as if it were my own and just adored it.  It made me smile.  It was just the type of dress that perky little Gidget might have worn. (She was my idol, everything about her right down to her name.)

For the school picnic one year when I was in grade school, my Mom, who made a good deal of my clothes, had made a pair of red pedal pushers with a matching “angel blouse” that was white with red and navy blue rather large polka dots on it.  She creatively cut out a few of the dots and sewed them on the side of the pants at the hemline.  Wow, was I sharp!  (Remember that word describing how very stylish you dressed?)

Polka dots are just plain fun!  I think we are seeing a revival of them due to the gloomy economic atmosphere we have been plunged into over the past year.  They make us happy.  I read somewhere recently that when our economy is in a slump, the sale of lipstick increases dramatically.  Who knew?  Well, I can answer that.  Women know how and what to do to lift spirits and boost our sense of well being without spending an arm and a leg, against popular belief.  When we wear a new shade of lipstick or wear polka dots we put on our best smile, hold our heads high and laugh at the temporary slump our nation is experiencing.

So I challenge you women of all ages, purchase your new lipstick, buy something polka dotted in anticipation of Spring and better days ahead!

Published in: on JanuaryUTCbSun, 24 Jan 2010 17:47:12 +0000000000Sun, 24 Jan 2010 17:47:12 +0000pmSun, 24 Jan 2010 17:47:12 +000010 9, 2008 at 2:20 p01  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://marciarussotto51.wordpress.com/2010/01/24/polka-dots/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I love the polka dot dress theme. Although I never owned one, it did remind me of when I was little and my aunt made me one of those poodle skirts. She made one for me and one for my cousin. I loved it then but probably wouldn’t wear one now. But I think I could wear a polka dot dress though.

    mary(http://ayearoutsidethepython.blogspot.com)


Leave a Reply

