Always on Sunday

It’s been six months since my new book “Always on Sunday, Memories of an Italian Childhood” has been released. Because I have no marketing background and my computer skills are limited, I’ve had to rely on the kindness of friends and relatives to help me along the way with advertising and publicizing and marketing.  This is all new to me.  So I’d like to thank Billy, my nephew who is a freshman at U Cal Pa for designing my website. Now I have an official site to advertise and sell my book.  I hope you visit it and encourage you to buy a copy of my book.  I assure you it will bring back a myriad of childhood memories whether you are Italian or not. You will also have at you fingertips some of the famous Pugliese Family recipes–from  Calabria, Italy.

When you talk about goals set and reached from year to year, the publishing of my book has far exceeded any goals I could have imagined in my lifetime.  Not only has the book itself been a dream come true, but the results that I am reaping from this book are absolutely amazing.  I’m referring to the large number of family members, namely second and third cousins, that have “discovered me”  through reading my book.

It all started with a phone call from a very nice lady asking if there was a possibility that we might be related.  It turned out that she was my Dad’s first cousin, long lost through years of not keeping in touch for whatever reason.  I mention her Dad in the book who had  a quite unusual name, Uncle Blackie, how many of those do you know?

The discovery of our relationship unfolded over several telephone conversations leading to more cousins emerging at such an alarming rate that one of them planned a reunion/meeting of sorts which ended up being a party of close to 30 or more cousins converging and introducing me to even more cousins living in nearby Ohio.  My head was spinning—–I was then connected by e-mail to some living in California, who I am about to visit and meet for the first time next month. Oh, and her brother from Arizona is trying to be there at the same time.  Whew!! How many more of my blood relatives can there be??  Actually I was told and sent pictures of several still living in Italy and also was given a photo of my great-grandparents that I’ve never seen and their original home in Calabria still being occupied by yet some more relatives.  Do you see what I mean by reaching beyond anything I could have even tried to fantasize about?

So this is my story of one day thinking that my extended family is quite small, in comparison to most Italian families, to having more cousins than I know what to do with.  It certainly is a great feeling and I’m convinced that God had this plan in mind when I started dreaming about writing this book.  Every one of these cousins that I’ve spoken with so far is truly convinced of this fact , also.  We are all so overwhelmed with joy and unbelief that the missing link of  the Pugliese family that immigrated from Italy,   my Dad and his offspring( my sisters and I)  are once again reconnected.

Unbreakable family ties are priceless.  My book is a testimony to that.always-on-sunday-cover-image-2

Published in: on DecemberUTCbTue, 30 Dec 2008 00:47:24 +0000000000Tue, 30 Dec 2008 00:47:24 +0000amTue, 30 Dec 2008 00:47:24 +000008 9, 2008 at 2:20 p12  Comments (1)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://marciarussotto51.wordpress.com/2008/12/30/always-on-sunday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. You have so much to be proud of, and I am proud of you. Cheers to a prosperous ’09!


Leave a Reply

