Looking Through Rose Colored Glasses

When I woke up Sunday morning, after the time change, it seemed later to me because it wasn’t pitch black as it usually is at six-thirty a.m.  I looked out my window and it appeared to me that I had on a pair of rose colored eye glasses.  Now I never owned a pair of rose colored glasses only light blue, which I wear occasionally, but the rosy glow that I saw was mesmerizing and beautiful.  I stood before the window and looked to my left which is the eastern sky and the sunrise was magnificent.  It caused the whole sky to be washed in a playful shade of pink lemonade.

I know why the term “Looking at the world through rose colored glasses” carries such a happy, optimistic view of life’s situations.  I had a smile on my face that not even the toughest elbow grease could remove. I literally felt “joyful” and just knew eveything was right in the world.

Now if only I could capture that feeling and spread it around to those who really need it.  Like my friend, Donna, who is in the midst of chemo treatments for esophageal cancer.  Wow, I just talked with her today and was so sad that the hope and uplifted spirit I saw in her the last few weeks has disappeared, gone, evaporated… Oh, if  she could wake up each morning and sense that feeling of joy and confidence that her day would be pain-free and her strength would return and her dizziness and headaches would be gone! Where can I buy a pair of those magical rose colored glasses?

But she is a fighter and a believer, and she is surrounded by prayer warriors who will hold her arms up for her when she cannot. Her trust in the Lord is what is going to get her through this stormy season, He will be those glasses for her.  Because only He has excellent vision and a plan and a purpose for her and what she is enduring right now. He is a God who heals and keeps all His promises. We, as her friends and church family will remind her of that, while the lenses of her faith become clearer and rosier.

Published in: on NovemberUTCbMon, 03 Nov 2008 20:27:23 +0000000000Mon, 03 Nov 2008 20:27:23 +0000pmMon, 03 Nov 2008 20:27:23 +000008 9, 2008 at 2:20 p11  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://marciarussotto51.wordpress.com/2008/11/03/looking-through-rose-colored-glasses/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

