No Turning Back

Well it seems by the swift wind and chill in the air that Autumn is officially here. Now I don’t have any thing against fall, really, it’s just that it means that OLD MAN WINTER is on his way!!  I do love the colors of fall, the sky seems a more vibrant blue, the apples are phenomenal, plums, pears and figs make the most delicious tarts and crostatas. (I’ll post the fig and marscapone cheese tart this week, so tune in please!) But honestly, I’m not ready for wool socks, heavier jackets, gloves and scarves.

I could have cried and almost did the other morning when I realized that I forgot to cover the last of my basil plants against the killing frost.  My once bright green, fragrant, thriving plants were diminished to dark murky gray and wilted spears standing erect from the soil.  A most pitiful and unnecessary death.  I guess I’ll have to depend on whatever the produce buyers can scrounge up whenever I get a craving for a buffalo mozzarella and tomato salad.

I now am feeling quite jealous of my son, Anthony, who lives in South Carolina and my daughter, Rachel, who calls San Diego home.  But wait, didn’t they both say to come and visit anytime?   Yessss, they did!!!

So while the colorful leaves swirl and litter the ground, I will be packing a suitcase with summer clothes and flip flops ready  for my upcoming sojourns.  So Autumn, come if you must, I will smile and anxiously wait for my escape when winter’s snow flakes fall. Oh, and while in California, I will enjoy my daily walk out to my daughter and son-in-laws’ orange trees and pick a few for our freshly squeezed orange juice for breakfast!

Published in: on OctoberUTCbTue, 21 Oct 2008 20:52:41 +0000000000Tue, 21 Oct 2008 20:52:41 +0000pmTue, 21 Oct 2008 20:52:41 +000008 9, 2008 at 2:20 p10  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://marciarussotto51.wordpress.com/2008/10/21/no-turning-back/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Nice post Mom! The warm California sun awaits you! Love, Rachel

  2. can’t get there soon enough!

  3. I am married to Elizabeth Winters Kaplan and have just been listening about her extended family, both known and unknown. It is exciting to hear of the associations; I know Beth is excited to now have even more extended family members. We live in N. Cal. and a coincidence, based upon your earlier blog: we have a daughter named Alexandra (Allye), a son named Zachary (Zack) and a daughter/stepdaughter that I named Kristen over 34 years ago! Beth doesnt know I am writing this, but as a former lawyer and now teacher, I really enjoy these connections and where they might lead. Who knows, there may be a community to be formed in the future for all you family members.

    In any event, glad to see this thing developing.

    Gary Kaplan


Leave a Reply

