Full Moon and Beautiful Sunset

As I was driving home tonight, my head was swiveling to the left and right back and forth to take in the breathtaking view of both the east and west horizons.  On the west was a most magnificent sunset.  The sky was splashed with an out of control riot of vivid hues.  I’ve never seen such contrasts of colors; pale to medium azure blue, deep to smokey purples, tangerine, garnet, shades of peach streaking and trailing across the western sky. In competition, on the east was the  rising full harvest moon.  It was unusually large and creamy white with an eerie haze like  a misty veil covering it making it look iridescent. The backdrop of the sky was an almost marine blue. I had trouble keeping my eyes on the road.  I wondered if everyone else was being entertained as I was.

The thing about sunsets is that they quickly change and intensify before they melt away into a darkened gray-black sky.  So you have to keep watching and oohing and ahhing . Once again I heard myself say, “Why don’t I have my camera with me!?

I love full moons and I hate that they only occur once a month!  Considering such beautiful visions set before us for our pleasure, how can one deny the existence of God?

Published in: on OctoberUTCbTue, 14 Oct 2008 19:56:38 +0000000000Tue, 14 Oct 2008 19:56:38 +0000pmTue, 14 Oct 2008 19:56:38 +000008 9, 2008 at 2:20 p10  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://marciarussotto51.wordpress.com/2008/10/14/full-moon-and-beautiful-sunset/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Full moons are fascinating to me now that I live near the ocean. It was quite beautiful here in Halifax last night too…but I must admit I prefer to watch the sun melt into the pacific ocean at sunset.

  2. Thank you for that mental picture Marcia!!!


Leave a Reply

