Dear and it’s many uses

I don’t know why, but lately I’ve been thinking about the word “dear”.  The ways in which to use this word are numerous.  The most common is a salutation for a letter, Dear _____, which has fallen by the wayside with the demise of snail-mail.  Greeting for e-mails are Hey, Hi, Whats up?… much more informal.  However, I’m not sure, but a “Dear John” letter has stayed pretty constant whether sent via internet or way of the US Postal Dept. 

“Dear Heart” is one of my all time favorites. The woman behind the cheese counter at Penn Mac in the Strip District calls all her customers by that moniker and she likewise is called the same, although her name is Carol.  It just makaes you feel good when you hear her call out,  “What can I get for you, Dear Heart?” 

“Yes Dear”, “No Dear” is heard often in a marriage between spouses  and sometimes I have to think it carries some amount of sarcasism! 

“Oh dear”, and “Dear me” can be either a comment of surprise, disbelief, confusion, fear, desperation…and I’m sure a few more emotions.

“You ar a Dear”!  denotes praise, thanks, and general approval.

And this last one, may not be familiar with many of us, especially the younger crowd…”it’s is just too dear!”  interpretation: too expensive.  I can remember my Italian grandmother, Nana, saying that about almost everything!  But those were the days when everyone was in the same boat, so to speak, poor!

I like dissecting and digging into the meanings and usage of the English language, we have such an expansive vocabulary and to me as a writer, I find it very interesting and useful.  I sometimes read a thesaurus like a novel.  Strange but true! 

But if I have left out any other uses for the word “dear”, please let me know.

Published in: on SeptemberUTCbTue, 02 Sep 2008 19:46:35 +0000000000Tue, 02 Sep 2008 19:46:35 +0000pmTue, 02 Sep 2008 19:46:35 +000008 9, 2008 at 2:20 p09  Comments (1)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://marciarussotto51.wordpress.com/2008/09/02/dear-and-its-many-uses/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Good description. I love to read it Marcy


Leave a Reply

