Matthew 10:29

I was watering my hanging baskets the other day with the garden hose, and the force of the water caused quite a surprise.  I noticed a newly hatched bird poke his little head out and after several hops fell out of what was a nest and onto the ground.  I freaked!!!  Oh my, what did I do?

I immediately turned the water off and started looking for the poor little thing among the hostas right below the hanging basket.  I saw him hopping around, lost, wet, scared; I felt terrible and certain that his mother would abandon him now.

So I ran into the house, grabbed a paper towel, picked him up as gently as I could and placed him back into the nest, all the while praying that the mother would come back and continue to feed him until he could fly on his own.

Ten minutes later she did come back with something in her beak, lunch no doubt, but was fluttering around chirping frantically as though she just knew something was awry.  She stayed perched on the back of a chair turning her head left to right for a few minutes.  I kept watching and waiting for her to fly up into the nest which she finally did.

What I heard next was a chorus of continuous chirping and twittering for a minute or so.  I can imagine the scolding that ensued by the mother spiked with fear and relief. I continued  to watch  undercover, of course, and saw that she left and came back several times with food in her beak possibly for the baby bird”s other siblings.

This whole scenario reminded me of the scripture Matthew 10 v. 29…”Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? Yet not one of them will fall to the ground apart from the will of your Father.”

This tells us that our Heavenly Father knows even when the tiniest bird falls to the ground.  If he cares about the smallest creatures, how much more does He care about you and me, His precious children?  He provides all of our needs no matter how large or small.

I hope you are smiling, I am!!!

Published in: on AugustUTCbMon, 04 Aug 2008 14:24:20 +0000000000Mon, 04 Aug 2008 14:24:20 +0000pmMon, 04 Aug 2008 14:24:20 +000008 9, 2008 at 2:20 p08  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://marciarussotto51.wordpress.com/2008/08/04/matthew-1029/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

