Christmas in July…HO HO HO

I still moan and groan every year around this time when all the department and greeting card stores start their “Christmas in July Sales”.  As my friend Daffy Duck would say,  “THufferin’ THuccotash!”  Just can’t the retail business let us enjoy the rest of the summer at least,  before tying our stomachs in knots about getting those dang Christmas lists out and scouting out the bargains pre-Labor Day even?!!!

Every year I say the same thing, like a mantra…..I’m not getting caught up in this flurry of Christmas shopping madness, I’m not getting caught up in this flurry of Christmas shopping madness…etc.

And I mean it this time!

Instead , on July 25, (yes, that is exactly six months until shopping D-Day),  I plan to do many summer things, like heading to a pool, eating outdoors, making a huge pitcher of ice tea, using up all of my mint in the garden, picking some basil and making pesto to freeze for this winter, go to North Park and feed the ducks with my grandson Aiden, maybe even go on his slip n’ slide, who knows, and finally sit outside on my back deck in the evening and listen to the family of frogs that have decided to populate my little pond.

Delightful!  Can’t wait!  How do you like that?,  retailers and robbers of summer!

I sure hope everyone else plans to do likewise.

What are some of your favorite summer things to do?

Published in: on JulyUTCbMon, 21 Jul 2008 13:10:00 +0000000000Mon, 21 Jul 2008 13:10:00 +0000pmMon, 21 Jul 2008 13:10:00 +000008 9, 2008 at 2:20 p07  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://marciarussotto51.wordpress.com/2008/07/21/christmas-in-julyho-ho-ho/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

