Summertime, when the living is easy…

Well this makes a good openig line for that classic sultry song about fish jumpin’ and the cotton being high…

I don’t know about you, but there certainly is not much time to live easy or to catch those jumpin’ fish or do anything else enjoyable. The yardwork (thank goodness we don’t own a cotton field) has just about consumed my husband and my every waking hour. The monsoon rains last month did not help any.

Planting, weeding, mulching, spraying, mowing then repeating all of that again…. I know it’s our choice that we live on two acres of land and my husband is a landscaper and I do enjoy planting garden beds and tending to the growing flowers, but I don’t know, maybe we’re just getting too old for all of this!

It is alot of work to maintain an average size yard and if you want it to look special with  more exotic or unusual plants and shrubs, well, then you have to pay for it one way or another. I’m not expecting Better Homes and Gardens any time soon, but I do see it as a bit of a challenge when I read about what Martha has planted in one of her many homesteads and think..’I can do that , too.’

It was from her magazine seven years ago that I read about her “Moon Garden”. Every flower in it was white. On the night of a full moon, the moonlight just bathes the flowers with a soft white glow bouncing off the pure white petals of each flower bloom. You have to admit that it sounds very romantic. Well, I gave it a try and each year I add a new white or the palest of silver- leafed variety of a flower to shimmer in the moonlight of my moon garden.

So along with the challenges come the rewads.

I will just have to bide my time, waiting until all the yardwork is done and only then can I shift my living into the easy mode. But for now, my fingernails will be crusted with dirt, my back will ache but in a few weeks, i will be able to walk outside my door and cut an armful of beautiful . sweet-smelling flowers, place them in vases throughout my house and then go and sit on the back deck with an iced coffe enjoying the snowy radiance of my own moon garden!

Published in: on JuneUTCbWed, 11 Jun 2008 20:44:42 +0000000000Wed, 11 Jun 2008 20:44:42 +0000pmWed, 11 Jun 2008 20:44:42 +000008 9, 2008 at 2:20 p06  Comments (1)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://marciarussotto51.wordpress.com/2008/06/11/summertime-when-the-living-is-easy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Marcia
    Iced coffee sounds “nice” but a Margarita (which I no can do) sounds even better!!!!
    Thinking of you!!


Leave a Reply

